The Grand River South East is the longest river in Mauritius.
It flows from its source in Piton du Milieu into Anse Cunat Bay, 34 kilometres away. It then runs along the Bamboo Mountain Range and forms majestic waterfalls that can be admired on the way up the river by boat, before ending its course in the Indian Ocean. It forms part of the offers included in the day trip to Île aux Cerfs or the boat tour to discover the islets of the southeast and remains one of the must visits for all those looking for a moment of escape in Mauritius.
The journey up the river from the mouth takes place in an authentic setting, planted in the heart of a ravine boasting a lush vegetation. The light contrast with the rocky faces is striking. One can come across fishermen’s rowboats moored on the banks and partake in unforgettable encounters with the local fauna: bats, white-tailed tropicbird or herons looking out for fish in-between rocks. The brackish water between the waterfall and the mouth teems with fish. A little further on, monkeys perched on trees or mountainsides overlooking the river observe the human parade.
The estuary narrows down as we edge closer to the falls. Diving from the top of rocks, swimming, canoeing and hiking are all activities that may be practised in this picturesque spot, and present spectacular opportunities for photo enthusiasts.
If the river and its rapids have made the place famous, Grand River South East is above all one of the most charming and peaceful fishing villages in Mauritius. A historic site also home to relics dating back to the Dutch colonisation that began in Grand Port Bay in September 1598. The Dutch settled along the coast in the southeast of the island, in Ferney, Grand River South East and Flacq. They established their administrative headquarters in Vieux Grand Port, an economic and port centre, before the administration was transferred to Port-Louis during the French era.